Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Monday, 21 May 2018

Neighbours Tour - Review From The Not Neighbours Fan


I could think of a million things to do on my birthday, like shopping. Am sure everyone has heard of Neighbours, that cheesy theme song "everyone needs good neighbours". Neighbours is a tv show filmed in Melbourne, Australia. My Mother is mad on neighbours and seemed to think of herself on my birthday. She booked for us to go to the Neighbours Tour, known I have never watched Neighbours in my life. My birthday is the same date every year and I had other plans.  Anyway let's get on and I'll share my review of the tour from not fan side. 

We arrived in Melbourne (on my birthday) and the tour started at Flinders Street, at 10am. The tour guide shouted who's excited to start the tour put yours hands up. I kept my hand down and the tour guide looked. I said I got made to and I've have never watched Neighbours in my life. 

Then we all had to get on a geeky designed Neighbours bus. It had the word "Neighbours in big writhing across the bus, so everyone would know you were on the Neighbors tour. The tour guide started shouting questions and everyone was screaming the answers. I was the one person sitting looking  confused, as none of the names or anything they shout meant anything to me. On the drive to set they played the cheesy theme song "everyone needs good neighbors" and the tour guide was asking everyone which Neighbours star you'd meet at the end of the tour. The only I knew that was on Neighbors was Kylie Minogue, but I knew she was too famous to be doing Neighbours tour greets haha. I knew of Holly Valance, only because her song "Kiss Kiss", not through Neighbours. I sat and listened to everyone shouting out names of cast they hoped to meet. 


We arrived at Nunawading Studios and the set is soo small, that the road just goes round in a square. Then we were told, we could get of the bus and pose for photos beside features used in Neighbours. I decided to play along to the photo part and pose beside random features. The one thing I noticed no one seemed in a hurry to pose for their photo beside features. The tour guide would say look out for cast coming and leaving, so every time someone was walking near he'd shout "oh oh who's this coming" and everyone was too busy looking at the person coming in and out of the building. Then there was me on my own, no queue posing for photos at random things.     



We then had to get back on the tour bus and we drove to the famous "Ramsay Street". It's actually a street called Pine Oak Court and we were given a fake street sign saying Ramsay Street to take photos.



At the end of the tour we were driven back to Flinders Street, where we met a past cast Libby Kennedy, played by Kym Valentine. Kym was nice - she said happy birthday give me a hug - so there we were strangers hugging haha. 


I am sure if you're a Neighbours fan you'd have even more fun, however being pointed to "the school", "bla bla's house" or the other props, it didn't mean anything to me. 

Wednesday, 18 April 2018

Birchbox New York Haul


Birchbox is known for their monthly subscription box. I have always wanted to sign up, but I think like "what if I don't like the colour I get?" "What if the product isn't me?". I read online there's a Birchbox store in SoHo, so when I went to New York I visited the Birchbox store. I walked in and there was different brand products and up the back of the store was a build your own box. I really liked the thought of the build your own box, however most of the products were from England. It kind of ruined the point, I've came from the UK to bring UK products back home. In the end I opted for the pre boxed brand boxes.

the best lips forward kit:



KMC Beauty : All Natural Collagen Infused Lip Mask
Stilla : Stay all day Liquid Lipstick In Patina 
M.A.C Cosmetics : Lipglass In Candy Yum-Yum
ModelCo : Lip Enhancer Illustration Lip Liner
Benefit Cosmetics : They're Real Double The Lip In Lusty Rose
Smith & Cult : The Shinning Lip Lacquer In Flesh Riot
Lord & Berry : 20100 Maximate Crayon Lipstick pencil In Black Red

Benefit Beauty Besties Kit :  



Hoola Matte Bronzing Powder
Roller Lash Super-Curling Mascara 
Lollibalm Hydrating Tinted Lip Balm

The pre boxed boxes is a good way to sample Birchbox and you can see what is in the box. I have always wanted to try the Benefit hoola bronzing powder, so I can't wait to try it. They are perfect travel size, especially as am heading to Australia

Thursday, 12 April 2018

Psychic Cafe | Update


I was one of those people who didn't believe in psychics. It sounded crazy how someone could tell you things about your life. One day I joked to my friend I was going to a psychic, to get answers. I went to Little Whispers cafe, in West Calder with my Mum. You can read about "My First Psychic Reading Experience" (here).  

My first reading, everything was accurate what she said. I did feel the reading, was like she was referring to the child me. She talked of me doing gymnastics, as a child. However one thing the psychic said happened, so I've wanted to go back and see what else they would say. 

This time I went the psychic cafe with my friend Kirsten and we had Lee do our reading.

Some of the things Lee said : 

There's someone who's jealous of me because I won a situation. - I knew what she was talking about.

I have a blog and I let the negative get to me. - I really do. I find myself taking a break from my blog, when someone says something negative about it. She said well don't you are letting them win and that's what they want. She said people enjoy reading what you write. 

I write about America. - To which I replied but am not going to America this time. She said I see you going to an island with palm trees. I guess Australia is a kind of island.

A big company will contact me to do with my blog. - I have had small company's contact me

She asked if I was in a union with someone - To which I replied no. Then she showed me a picture that appeared on the glass I drunk out of, asking me if I want to hump the guy. I started laughing and she kept saying, tell the truth do you want to hump him?.

It was scary the things she knew and funny when she was asking if I want to hump him. 

Tuesday, 27 March 2018

The Huxley Edinburgh | Breakfast


I stopped by The Huxley for breakfast, for a change. The Huxley is at the beginning on Princes Street and has a good view of Edinburgh Castle. I decided on the full Scottish breakfast, because it is Scotland after all. Before I head to Australia to try Australian food.

Full Scottish breakfast :
Pork & herb sausage, Hardiesmill beef sausage, smoked Ayrshire back beacon, haggis, black pudding, mushroom, grilled tomato, potato scone & a free range egg

And vanilla milkshake 

It is a good sample of Scottish food, but don't be fooled us Scottish people don't eat haggis for breakfast.

Tuesday, 20 March 2018

Chiquito


It was my Mum's birthday, so we headed for dinner to Chiquito. I have only once been to Chiquito, some years ago.  

I ordered : 

Naked Burrito 
Guacamole, salsa, reformed beans and baby gem lettuce. Roasted halloumi and veg skewer

Drink 
Vanilla milkshake 

Dessert 
Churros

Milkshakes are my new favourite drink. Am hoping I don't get sick of them, before I head to Australia. The churros were also soo good, but I worry I pronounce it wrong so I just point to it on the menu haha.

Wednesday, 14 March 2018

Ivy On The Square | Edinburgh


When I heard Ivy On The Square was opening in Edinburgh, it brought back memories of Los Angeles. It's been 10 whole years since I visited The Ivy, in Los Angeles. I actually have photos of me, posing outside The Ivy. 

I looked online to book a table at Ivy On The Square. They had every half an hour available through the whole day, so I decided not to book than stressing over getting there for a certain time. I headed to The Ivy with my Mum and when we arrived they said no tables were available, but if we sat at the bar they'd shout us when one was available.    

We sat at the bar and ordered a drink. I then took my phone out and went on The Ivy website and there was tables showing available to book for now, so I clicked book. 10 minutes went by and I said to my Mum, "you know I booked a table for 10 minutes ago". My Mum shouted someone over, so I said we had a booking for 10 minutes ago. The staff person said to follow her and we were taken to a table upstairs.   

I ordered:

Aromatic duck curry
Fragrant coconut duck curry with lemongrass, lime, chilli, roasted cashews and steamed jasmine rice. 

Drink: 

Mixed berry smoothie 
Strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, banana, coconut milk and lime.

Dessert: 

Chocolate bombe
Melting chocolate bombe with vanilla ice cream and honeycomb centre with hot butterscotch sauce 

The chocolate bombe was the best, but if I go back I would book. I think they prefer you booking. I ended up sitting drinking alcohol at the bar, for the sake of it. 

Monday, 12 March 2018

Flying with EasyJet


When you think EasyJet, you think cheap flights. I try only use EasyJet for day trips or traveling light, as you need to add on the cost for check-in luggage. I've flew to London for £50, but other times I've searched you can pay £50 each way. As am saving to go away for my birthday, I didn't plan going anywhere. Then one day I was searching EasyJet website and typing in random places. I found Paris was only £73.50 return, to fly in the morning and come back at night. I ended up clicking to book to go to Paris. 

I hadn't flew with EasyJet in years, so I decided to try the EasyJet app. The app lets you check in and scan the tickets from your phone. I checked in online the night before my flight.

I headed to airport and went straight to security, feeling like I was missing something walking by EasyJet check-in. I scanned the barcode on the app on my phone and went through. Then when I went and bought at Duty Free shops, it saved a lot of hassle showing the barcode on my own.  

I was worried what I bought in Paris traveling hand luggage only, but I did pick up some makeup in Sephora. I would definitely do more hand luggage only trips with EasyJet.   

Sunday, 11 March 2018

Smash Burger


The last few months I've seen people on my Facebook check into Smash Burger. I Googled and found there's one in Dunfermline, so I headed to Smash Burger. 

I ordered:

Stilton stack with has chutney with rocket, haystack onions, applewood smocked beacon & Stilton cheese on a smash bun. 

And 

French fries 

And 

Vanilla milkshake 


The milkshake was too plain. I know it's vanilla, but I have been to other places where it tastes "different". The burger was nice, but there was too much chutney that I didn't taste any cheese. I wouldn't say I wouldn't go back, but I'd maybe try something different on the menu. The plus side they give 25% discount if you show a student  card, so I did get 25% off.