Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Monday, 21 May 2018

Neighbours Tour


I could think of a million things to do on my birthday, like shopping. Am sure everyone has heard of Neighbours, that cheesy theme song "everyone needs good neighbours". Neighbours is a tv show filmed in Melbourne, Australia. My Mother is mad on neighbours and seemed to think of herself on my birthday. She booked for us to go to the Neighbours Tour, known I have never watched Neighbours in my life. My birthday is the same date every year and I had other plans.  Anyway let's get on and I'll share my review of the tour from not fan side. 

We arrived in Melbourne (on my birthday) and the tour started at Flinders Street, at 10am. The tour guide shouted who's excited to start the tour put yours hands up. I kept my hand down and the tour guide looked. I said I got made to and I've have never watched Neighbours in my life. 

Then we all had to get on a geeky designed Neighbours bus. It had the word "Neighbours in big writhing across the bus, so everyone would know you were on the Neighbors tour. The tour guide started shouting questions and everyone was screaming the answers. I was the one person sitting looking  confused, as none of the names or anything they shout meant anything to me. On the drive to set they played the cheesy theme song "everyone needs good neighbors" and the tour guide was asking everyone which Neighbours star you'd meet at the end of the tour. The only I knew that was on Neighbors was Kylie Minogue, but I knew she was too famous to be doing Neighbours tour greets haha. I knew of Holly Valance, only because her song "Kiss Kiss", not through Neighbours. I sat and listened to everyone shouting out names of cast they hoped to meet. 


We arrived at Nunawading Studios and the set is soo small, that the road just goes round in a square. Then we were told, we could get of the bus and pose for photos beside features used in Neighbours. I decided to play along to the photo part and pose beside random features. The one thing I noticed no one seemed in a hurry to pose for their photo beside features. The tour guide would say look out for cast coming and leaving, so every time someone was walking near he'd shout "oh oh who's this coming" and everyone was too busy looking at the person coming in and out of the building. Then there was me on my own, no queue posing for photos at random things.     



We then had to get back on the tour bus and we drove to the famous "Ramsay Street". It's actually a street called Pine Oak Court and we were given a fake street sign saying Ramsay Street to take photos.



At the end of the tour we were driven back to Flinders Street, where we met a past cast Libby Kennedy, played by Kym Valentine. Kym was nice - she said happy birthday give me a hug - so there we were strangers hugging haha. 


I am sure if you're a Neighbours fan you'd have even more fun, however being pointed to "the school", "bla bla's house" or the other props, it didn't mean anything to me. 

Wednesday, 18 April 2018

Birchbox New York Haul


Birchbox is known for their monthly subscription box. I have always wanted to sign up, but I think like "what if I don't like the colour I get?" "What if the product isn't me?". I read online there's a Birchbox store in SoHo, so when I went to New York I visited the Birchbox store. I walked in and there was different brand products and up the back of the store was a build your own box. I really liked the thought of the build your own box, however most of the products were from England. It kind of ruined the point, I've came from the UK to bring UK products back home. In the end I opted for the pre boxed brand boxes.

the best lips forward kit:



KMC Beauty : All Natural Collagen Infused Lip Mask
Stilla : Stay all day Liquid Lipstick In Patina 
M.A.C Cosmetics : Lipglass In Candy Yum-Yum
ModelCo : Lip Enhancer Illustration Lip Liner
Benefit Cosmetics : They're Real Double The Lip In Lusty Rose
Smith & Cult : The Shinning Lip Lacquer In Flesh Riot
Lord & Berry : 20100 Maximate Crayon Lipstick pencil In Black Red

Benefit Beauty Besties Kit :  



Hoola Matte Bronzing Powder
Roller Lash Super-Curling Mascara 
Lollibalm Hydrating Tinted Lip Balm

The pre boxed boxes is a good way to sample Birchbox and you can see what is in the box. I have always wanted to try the Benefit hoola bronzing powder, so I can't wait to try it. They are perfect travel size, especially as am heading to Australia

Thursday, 12 April 2018

Psychic Cafe | Update


I was one of those people who didn't believe in psychics. It sounded crazy how someone could tell you things about your life. One day I joked to my friend I was going to a psychic, to get answers. I went to Little Whispers cafe, in West Calder with my Mum. You can read about "My First Psychic Reading Experience" (here).  

My first reading, everything was accurate what she said. I did feel the reading, was like she was referring to the child me. She talked of me doing gymnastics, as a child. However one thing the psychic said happened, so I've wanted to go back and see what else they would say. 

This time I went the psychic cafe with my friend Kirsten and we had Lee do our reading.

Some of the things Lee said : 

There's someone who's jealous of me because I won a situation. - I knew what she was talking about.

I have a blog and I let the negative get to me. - I really do. I find myself taking a break from my blog, when someone says something negative about it. She said well don't you are letting them win and that's what they want. She said people enjoy reading what you write. 

I write about America. - To which I replied but am not going to America this time. She said I see you going to an island with palm trees. I guess Australia is a kind of island.

A big company will contact me to do with my blog. - I have had small company's contact me

She asked if I was in a union with someone - To which I replied no. Then she showed me a picture that appeared on the glass I drunk out of, asking me if I want to hump the guy. I started laughing and she kept saying, tell the truth do you want to hump him?.

It was scary the things she knew and funny when she was asking if I want to hump him. 

Tuesday, 27 March 2018

The Huxley Edinburgh | Breakfast


I stopped by The Huxley for breakfast, for a change. The Huxley is at the beginning on Princes Street and has a good view of Edinburgh Castle. I decided on the full Scottish breakfast, because it is Scotland after all. Before I head to Australia to try Australian food.

Full Scottish breakfast :
Pork & herb sausage, Hardiesmill beef sausage, smoked Ayrshire back beacon, haggis, black pudding, mushroom, grilled tomato, potato scone & a free range egg

And vanilla milkshake 

It is a good sample of Scottish food, but don't be fooled us Scottish people don't eat haggis for breakfast.

Friday, 1 December 2017

TGI Fridays Christmas Dinner

I find December the most depressing time of the year. Another year has went by and I've still not found the one. However my friend Stine (thatscottishnorwegiangirl) tagged me in a post on Facebook, that said the name "Danielle" will find the one in 2018. Saying that I get some of those silly online things saying "he's by your side, already". 

The one thing I love about December, is Christmas dinners. Everywhere has Christmas inspired meals, this time of year. I headed to TGI Fridays at Fort Kinnaird and had the Christmas dinner.


I went to TGI Fridays last year, for Christmas dinner and they have a similar menu. I loved the Christmas meal last year, so I ended up getting the same.  The three course meal is £21.99, for a starter, main meal and dessert. There's also the option the buy the courses separately. If you buy the starter and main meal, the dessert is kind of free with the three course meal. 

Starter
Jack's Christmas dinner sundae
Main meal
Sesame Jack Frost chicken strips with fries
Dessert 
Warm apple and blackberry sundae

The drink I got was coke. 

The best part my Mum was drinking and she can be so unpredictable, what she says with a drink. I said as a joke to my Mum "ask for the check". Americans will understand, as they call "the bill" a check. I looked down at my phone and next thing my Mum says "can we have the check ?" Haha I said to my Mum we are in the UK, not America.   

Tuesday, 15 August 2017

MINI Referral Gift | Review


I recently bought a MINI at Eastern MINI (read about it here). I have so much love for MINI, that whenever my dad traded in his car I'd tell him to get a MINI. It was only after I bought my MINI, my dad had his mind set on a MINI. 

My mum can't drive, but it won't stop her asking for random stuff from a car garage. My dad got his last car from Seat. My mum liked the Seat umbrella on display in the showroom, so she told the salesman my dad wasn't buying the car unless she got that umbrella. Surprisingly the salesman gave the umbrella in with the car. 

We managed to talk my dad around getting a MINI, so we headed along to Eastern MINI. My dad picked between two ex demo MINI Countryman, a silver or dark grey. My mum said she'd ask what I get for recommending my dad MINI and hinted MINI car mats, as the universal ones we bought don't sit right. The salesman said he'd see what he could do and would get "something special to go with my MINI". One of the times my parents came back from MINI they mentioned the salesman said a tank of petrol. When my dad collected his car, he came in saying the salesman said he's ordered a "special MINI cushion" coming Germany. My thoughts were I saw a nice furry soft MINI shape cushion in a supermarket for £6. I thought a cushion isn't exactly special, but any how we could only wait to see this "special cushion" all the way from Germany.

A couple weeks after my dad got his car, he headed to MINI to order car mats for his car and ask if the cushion had arrived. The salesman said it's been ordered, so it's still on its way. It only takes a week for me to send things to my friends in America, in that time my cushion must have flown around the world a few times.

It's been 2 months since my dad got his car, so I went on the Eastern MINI Facebook page and commented - I'll be trading in my 17 plate and still no gift for recommending my dad. The following day the salesman emailed saying he txt my dad the week before to let him know it arrived. So I phoned my dad to ask if he got a txt from MINI, to which he said no. I went to my parents house and had a look throug my dads phone and there was no txt or email. My mum said let's go along for the cushion then.  

We headed along to MINI to pick up the cushion and I waited outside in the car, while my mum ran in. When my mum came out, she was waving it in her hand making a face. I laughed so much at how ridiculous it looked.

It was a drop from car mats, to a tank of petrol, to get a knitted car not much bigger than a McDonald's toy.  

I always thought MINI had a standard for their cars and merchandise. How can a supermarket sell a nicer, better shape MINI than MINI ?. 

Where do I begin ? It's knitted, do I look that fuddy duddy ? MINI cars are modern and stylish, now we've went old fashioned. Secondly it's very badly shaped. I have bought MINI hats and other merchandise in the past and they were always to a high standard. Lastly why did it take two months coming from Germany ?. Do MINI have a granny in Germany and I was waiting on Granny MINI knitting it ?.

      As much as I love MINI cars, MINI have downgraded themselves to think it's acceptable to give this. It's like giving your friend a McDonald's toy, as a gift. I know it was free, my point is you don't give someone something that looks awful.

Sunday, 13 August 2017

The Huxley | Buffalo Wings


I can't work out if am on a mission to find the best food or smoothie in Edinburgh. I seem to have a love for smoothies right now. I stopped at The Huxley for dinner and after looking through the menu, the 12pm till 5pm menu looked more appealing. Don't you hate when you spot something on the menu, then to realise they only serve it during certain hours. I liked the sound of Philly cheesesteak, but I'll have to try that at a later date.

I opted for the buffalo wings,chips and the berry burst smoothie. I wouldn't go overly mad on the buffalo wings. Am addicted to irn bru, so I struggle to find a drink that doesn't leave you thirsty after. The smoothie was nice and refreshing and different from irn bru.

I think I need to go back and try a breakfast or Philly cheesesteak. 

Monday, 7 August 2017

The Table Edinburgh | Review



I first heard of The Table back in mid April, when all the Avengers stars shared photos on instagram of them being there. I love visiting restaurants, where celebrities have visited. I looked into booking, but it was fully booked for the next 3 months. The Table website has a list of dates when the release the following months bookings and August was being released at 12 noon, on the 3rd of May. I knew it must get fully booked quick, as I still had another 2 weeks wait before I could book for August. I waited ready to book once it turned 12 noon. It asks you to pay while booking, I guess to make sure you show up 3 months later.

I read about it online 1 table, 2 chefs, 10 people. It has a BYOB corkage charge, meaning you could bring your own bottle. Am not really a drinker, unless everyone else is drinking so I planned to just have a juice. I booked for 2 people and my dad came along with me. I was a little nervous thinking what if the rest of the table is a group of 8 on a hen or stag party and we sat awkwardly at the table. Am that person that always thinks of the "what if ?".

Fast forward 3 months, we headed along to The Table. We headed down Dundas street looking for number "3a" stated on the website. Next door to number 3, there's a blue painted door and above the door is glass with the name "The Table". I walked in and the table was right  there. I am the only person who imagined you walked in through a corridor, before entering the room ?. Everyone seemed in two's and a mix of different ages. The two seats at the top of the room were empty, so we headed to sit there. Everyone was popping opening their bottles, that's when I felt the odd one out and regretted not bringing a bottle. I clicked on google map to find the nearest shop, to see if I could run and buy drink. Tesco was showing 2 mins away, so I said to my dad I'll run to Tesco and buy drink. My dad replied, "you won't have time". I pointed at the door saying "look it's open". Then my dad said to the chef will she have time to run to the shop ? The chef replied "of course". My dad was driving, so I didn't want to be popping a bottle to myself so I opted for Malibu cans.  

We sat looking onto the kitchen watching the chefs cook, chat and mingle with everyone at the table. My dad got talking to the couple beside us and it turned out he works with the sisters partner. Everyone seems to know someone one way or the other.

Menu :

A Summer Jumper
Frogs Legs with Wild Mushrooms and Pesto

Golden Wonder Cheese and Onion
Isle of Mull Cheddar Ravioli with Onion Broth

No Plaice Like Covfefe
Steamed Plaice with Sheep's Yogurt and Summer Vegetables #COVFEFE

Dong Po
Rare-Breed Tamworth Pork with Melon and Ginger inspired by Tim Raue

Twistin' My Melon Man
Gorgonzola with Spanish Ham, Cantaloupe Melon, Black Olive and Sage Chocolate 

Wether's Not So Original 
Caramel powder inspired by Grant Achatz

Chocolate Raspberr-Hay
Raspberrs with Hay and Chocolate

It's classed as a 7 course meal, but I do count 9.  


For everyone that knows me, am a really fussy eater. I can eat meat if it's flavoured, but I can't eat any fish as I see it as alive at one point. Anything that looks like it was alive at one point, I can't eat it. Would you believe I ate the fish ?. Everyone's plate was empty after each course, so it shows how good a chef they are. I was most nervous about the caramel powder, but once you've got over the shock of the powder it's like eating chewy caramel. 

When we got up to go, Sean the chef came forward and gave a little goody bag with The Table cocoa powder, a little chocolate brownie cake and the recipe.  


It costs £70 per person, but worth every penny as you are paying for the experience. My only advice is check the date on the website, for the following months bookings and be ready at 12 noon to book. I've looked back a few hours after they released the follow month and it's fully booked.


Location : 3a Dundas street, Edinburgh